“Lhakar Pledge”

High Peaks Pure Earth has a translation of a Tibetan internet posting which has circulated recently, calling for Tibetans to reassert their cultural identity. Things like this are difficult for Beijing to combat- if you march with a banner, they can beat or kill you. If you speak Tibetan more often, or wear Tibetan clothing, or conspicuously refer to yourself as a Tibetan? Much harder to justify a beating or disappearance over something like that. The original post calls for Tibetans to make special note of Wednesday, a day considered auspicious in Tibet.

I am Tibetan, from today I will speak pure Tibetan in my family.
I am Tibetan, from today I will speak pure Tibetan whenever I meet a Tibetan.
I am Tibetan, from today I will remind myself every day that I am a Tibetan till I die.
I am Tibetan, from today I will wear only Tibetan traditional dress, chuba, every Wednesday.
I am Tibetan, from today I will speak only Tibetan every Wednesday.
I am Tibetan, from today I will learn Tibetan language.
I am Tibetan, from today I will stop eating meat and only eat a vegetarian diet and gain more merit every Wednesday.
I am Tibetan, from today I will only use Tibetan and speak Tibetan when I call or send a message to Tibetans.

Your move, Beijing.

Leave a comment

Filed under China, culture, Tibet

Leave a Reply

